Thiru Singavel Kundram


History - Thiru Singavel Kundram (Ahobilam)

As per Sthalapurana, Garuda performed Tapas to have the Darshan of Nrisimha of Vibhavathara. Granting the boon to Garuda, the Lord settled amidst the hills and dense forests in nine different forms mentioned above. Hence this holy hill is called Garudadri, Garudachalam and Garudasailam. It is also believed that the Lord killed Hiranyakasipu and saved Prahlada at this Kshetra. As Lord settled here forgetting even the Srivakunta, Mahalakshmi took avatar in the Hunter's family and married the Lord and hence called Senjulakshmi (Senju - Hunterfolk). There is temple for Prahladavarda at lower Ahobilam.

Thaayaar - Amruthavalli, Senchulakshmii

Theertham - Indra, Nrusimha, Paapanaasa, Gaja, Bargava Theerthams.

Ahobila Narasimhar
There is a cave temple on top of the hill about 6 miles from Ahobilam. The Moolavar here is Ahobila Narasimhar. The utsavar is Rama.

Thaayaar - Lakshmi

Theertham - Bavanaasini.

As you climb further uphill along the banks of bavanasini you can reach the Varahanarasimha temple & further uphill on a steep hill Maalola Narasimhan gives darshan in a small sannadhi. It is believed that the pillar from which Lord Narasimha broke out can be seen two miles from this spot. The route to get the darshan of Jwaala Narasimhan & to reach these places, a guide is necessary.


Thirumangaialwar - 1008 - 1017

Total of 10 Paasurams.

Special Information
Dieties Narasimhan, Lakshmi
Vimanam Kurugai Vimanam
Theerthangal Indra Theertham, Narasimha Theertham, Papanascha Theertham
Mangalasasanam Thirumangaiazhwar
Prathyaksham (The Lord who had slain the demon king of Hiranya Kashipu and blessed His devotee, Prahlad(the son of Hiranya Kashipu))
Direction and Posture East-faced and Sitting Posture
Travel Base Ahobilam
Accessibility Alight at Nandyal Railway Station(Guntakal-Bejwadda)
Proceed southward to Arlegadda
Sri Ahobilam is 12 miles from here
Alternately, you can reach here via Cuddapah, Arlegudda also.
This kshetra is also known as Nava Narasimham. There are two divisions here.
  1. Keezh Ahobilam(Lower Tier)
  2. Mael Ahobilam(Upper Tier)

Sri Lakshmi Narasimha is the presiding diety in Keezh Ahobilam. He is not counted in the Nava Narasimhas. The other nine Narasimhas are:

  1. Yoga Narasimha
  2. Chatra Vada Narasimha
  3. Bhargava Narasimha
  4. Karanja Narasimha
  5. Ugra Narasimha(Mael Ahobilam)
  6. Malola Narasimha
  7. Varaha Narasimha
  8. Pavana Narasimha
  9. Prahlada Narasimha

There are no regular poojas for seven of the Narasimhas. About 3 miles from here is the UkraSthamba in a very holy and sacred place.

The Moolavar is Prahlaadavaradan, Lakshmi Narasimhan seen in seated posture facing east. The utsavar murtis - Maalola Narasimhar & 8 other murtis.

How to Get There.

Ahobilam is situated at a distance of 74 Kms from Nandyal (Kurnool District), around 365 Kms from Hyderabad and around 75 Kms from Tirupathi. Lots of transportation facilities are available. Bus facilities from Cuddapah, Nandyal and Banganapalli are available and frequent.